On April 6, the Manitoba Trucking Association held its 86th Annual
General Meeting at the RBC Convention Centre in downtown Winnipeg.

Following the President’s Report by outgoing President Gary Arnold, and other general business items, the AGM saw the election of the MTA’s new Board of Directors: 
John Erik AlbrechtsenPaul’s Hauling Limited 
Jeannie ArnoldArnold Bros. Transport 
Brent Arnold, Arnold Bros. Transport 
Jasvir Singh Brar, 4Tracks Ltd. 
PJ Singh, 4Tracks Ltd. 
John CurcioManitoulin Transport Inc. 
Bruce DanylchukE.B.D. Enterprises Inc
Ed DillonKleysen Group LP 
Bernie DriedgerPortage Transport 
Jason DuboisLen Dubois Trucking 
Darrin FiskeKleysen Group LP 
Kyle HarrisHarris Transport Ltd. 
Scott KinleyGladstone Transfer 
Derek LachaineTransX Group 
Darren LaneFast Lane Freight Services 
Peter McDonaldTransX Group 
Thomas McKeePayne Transportation 
Marc MeyerMeyer Bros. Trucking Ltd. 
Ryan MitchellWildwood Transport Inc. 
Jeff OdwayPrairie International 
Rob PennerBison Transport Inc. 
Kevin SmallAgri-Fresh Transport 
Dave TyrchniewiczTurk Enterprises Ltd. 
Pauline Wiebe-PetersPayne Transportation 
Steve ZokvicBison Transport Inc. 
Ray SamarooGardewine 
Howard HildebrandSearcy Trucking Ltd. 
Jim DevlinBridgestone Commercial 
Chris FredricksonPeterbilt Manitoba 
Gilles DurandDu-Vall Transport Inc. 
Michael MourantAgrifoods Group 

After the formal portion of the AGM there was a presentation from Stephen Laskowski, President of the Canadian Trucking Alliance. Pete Dalmazzi, President of Trucks for Change Network provided some insight into that charity and how Manitoba companies can get involved. Lou Smyrlis and Derek Clouthier of Newcom Media Inc. also moderated two panel discussions. The first a discussion on the image of the trucking industry included: 
Bruce DugganBuller Centre for Business Providence University College 
Reg Wightman, Manitoba Motor Carrier Division 
Richard Cloutier, CJOB Global News 
Ward KeithManitoba Public Insurance 
Terry ShawManitoba Trucking Association

The second panel discussion was with Manitoba’s Top Fleet Employers and included: 
Bill FriesenKeystone Western 
Brent ArnoldArnold Bros. Transport 
Thomas McKeePayne Transportation Ltd
Rob Penner, Bison Transport Inc. 

Immediately following the AGM, the MTA Board of Directors elected a new MTA Executive Committee. It is as follows: 
John Erik Albrechtsen (President), Paul’s Hauling Limited 
Bernie Driedger (1st Vice President), Portage Transport 
Ed Dillon (2nd Vice President), Kleysen Group LP
Jason Dubois (Member at Large), Len Dubois Trucking 
Jeff Odway (Member at Large), Prairie International 
Pauline Wiebe-Peters (Member at Large), Payne Transportation 

John Erik Albrechtsen was elected MTA President. Prior to being elected the MTA’s 39th President, John Erik served as an MTA Board and Executive Committee member for decades. 

Bernie Driedger and Ed Dillon were then confirmed as 1st and 2nd Vice Presidents of the association. 
Gary Arnold of Arnold Bros. Transport Ltd., MTA President for the last two years, now assumes the role of Immediate Past President. 

With Gary assuming the role of Immediate Past President, Greg Arndt of Jade Transport Ltd. moves out of that role after having generously served as an MTA Executive member for over 10 years. 

On behalf of the MTA members, board and staff, congratulations and THANK YOU to these individuals (and the other Board members) for their commitment to serve the Manitoba trucking industry and the MTA. 

[back to top]

past issues past issues recent issue