Legal Corner

Alberta’s 69th Provincial Truck Driving Championships

Alberta’s commercial drivers showcased their skills June 24 at the 69th annual Alberta Motor Transport Association (AMTA) Provincial Truck Driving Championships at Westerner Park in Red Deer.

“We had a beautiful day at Westerner Park and I applaud the confidence, skills and professionalism of drivers in Alberta’s commercial industry,” said Lorraine Card, AMTA president. “I would like to thank our volunteers who were kept busy all day, our sponsors who made the event possible and extend congratulations to the Commercial Vehicle Enforcement inspectors who competed in their events as well.”

The championships ran in conjunction with the CVE Alberta Inspectors Championship, which was celebrating its 24th year of competition. This combined event is a showcase of the unique partnership between CVE and the AMTA. The winner of the inspector’s championship, Officer Lance Skoog, is headed to Orlando, Florida in August to compete at the North American Inspectors Championship.

“For me, the drivers and officers competing in the events really exemplify excellence and they enter the championships seeking to improve their skills. It isn’t easy, it takes courage and leadership for those who come to compete,” said Deputy Chief Jacquie Daumont, Commercial Vehicle Enforcement, Alberta Justice and Solicitor General.

“The cooperative partnership we have here in Alberta is setting the standard nationally and across North America for how industry, government and law enforcement should be working together as we are all in this for the same thing: public safety.”

Next year’s 70th anniversary of the provincial truck driving championships will coincide with the AMTA’s 80th anniversary celebrations. It is the association’s hope the event can be held at their new five-acre test track and building site at the Edmonton International Airport.

The winners of this year’s Provincial Truck Driving Championships are as follows:

Straight Truck

First: Keith Franklin, Canadian Freightways
Second: Hutch Thomas, H&R Transport
Third: Kevin Pasini, Sokil Express


First: Daren Hodgkins, Bison Transport
Second: Ryan Fecteau, Rosenau Transport
Third: Jagpreet Singh, Fedex


First: Dave Lowe, Bison Transport
Second: Alexander Brings, Rosenau Transport
Third: Pritpal Singh Sangha, Fedex


First: Tim Bingley, Lac La Biche Transport
Second: Curtis Phillips, Sobeys West
Third: Paul Mills, Sobeys West


First: Robert Smith, TDL Group
Second: Ron Johnstone, Canadian Freightways
Third: Lonnie Wilton, Canadian Freightways

Team Awards

First: Bison Transport (Robert Mowers, Straight Truck; Daren Hodgkins, Single-Single; Dave Lowe, Single-Tandem; Rob Wells, Tandem-Tandem; Curtis Mann, B-Train)
Second: H&R Transport (Hutch Thomas, Straight Truck; Darcy Knittle, Single-Single; Dan Arych, Single-Tandem; Rui Santos, Tandem-Tandem; Doug Norris, B-Train)
Third: Rosenau Transport (Robert Fitzgerald, Straight Truck; Ryan Fecteau, Single-Single; Joanie Wiseman, Single-Tandem; Donald Ross Hall. Tandem-Tandem; Daniel Vas, B-Train)

Rookie of the Year – Fred Dedel’s Rookie Award

Ryan Fecteau, Rosenau Transport

Grand Champion, Ann Taylor Award

Tim Bingley, Lac La Biche Transport

[back to top]


MTA announces Driver of the Year

The Manitoba Trucking Association (MTA) and Volvo Trucks Canada are pleased to announce that this year’s Manitoba Driver of the Year is – Ronald J. Rodych of Gordon Food Service. This year the award was presented by John Mauseth of Beaver Truck Centre on behalf of Volvo Trucks Canada at the Victoria Inn Hotel in Winnipeg.

The Driver of the Year is presented annually, and is selected from the Industry Excellence Award recipients from the previous year. The recipient is chosen based on commitment to the industry, safety, outstanding acts, and customer service. Annually the Manitoba Driver of the Year is selected from the 10 Industry Excellence recipients by a panel of judges that include industry and law enforcement.

A driver with over 28 years with Gordon Food Service, Ron has received numerous awards as a professional driver.

As the Provincial Driver of the Year, Ron is now eligible for the Canadian Trucking Alliance/Volvo Trucks Canada National Driver of the Year Award.

[back to top]


Manitoba’s Professional Truck Driving Championships

Commercial Drivers from all over Manitoba came together for the 2017 Professional Truck Driving Championships (PTDC) held at Peterbilt Manitoba located at 1895 Brookside Boulevard.

The PTDC is where commercial drives in our province compete by demonstrating their skill on numerous levels including a written text, trip inspection station, and of course the driving track.

Winners for 2017 were announced later that evening at the Driver Awards Banquet held at the Victoria Inn Hotel in Winnipeg.

Winners are as follows:
Straight Truck: Bruce McKechnie (Bison Transport)
Single-Single: Brian Hrabarchuk (Canadian Freightways)
Single-Tandem: Frank Klassen (Penner International)
Tandem-Tandem: Rodney Birdsbill (Bison Transport)
Super B Train: David Henry (REK Express)

Other event winners recognized at the banquet included:
J.O. Dutton Award: Denis Roberts (TST Overland Express)
First Time Entrant: Charlie Thompson Jr. (Arnold Bros. Transport)
Team Award: Canadian Freightways
Hal Bjornson Memorial Award: Brian Hrabarchuk (Canadian Freightways)
Grand Champion: Rodney Birdsbill (Bison Transport)

Included in the evening was also the presentation of the MTA-Custom Truck Sales Inc./Kenworth Truck Company Industry Excellence Award. To be selected to receive an Industry Excellence Award, a driver must have demonstrated a commitment to the trucking industry, safety, customer service, and even may have performed acts of outstanding bravery or courage, risking their own lives to save others.

Congratulations to the Industry Excellence Award recipients: Tim Reimer (Steve’s Livestock), Terry Wright (Arnold Bros. Transport), Marcito Kehler (Steve’s Livestock), Ron Rodych (Gordon Food Service), Darren Bray (Arnold Bros. Transport), Myron Penner (Steve’s Livestock), Cass Nicbride (Bison Transport), Robert Goulet (Arnold Bros. Transport), Sheryl McLean (Kindersley Transportation), and Robert McLean (Kindersley Transportation). From this pool of award winners, the annual Volvo Trucks Canada Manitoba Driver of the Year is selected.

[back to top]


past issues past issues recent issue